A non-commercial (regular, Class D) New Mexico driver license or a valid out-of-state commercial driver license (CDL) is required to get a New Mexico commercial driver license.
Written tests are not required to exchange a valid out-of-state CDL for a New Mexico CDL with the same class and endorsements. Any driver needing a hazardous materials (Hazmat) endorsement must take a written test, be fingerprinted and get a background check.
If you do not have a valid out-of-state CDL, you must go to the MVD and complete the following—
Pass the written test(s) pertaining to the class of CDL and any endorsements applied for, receive a CDL learner’s permit, and pass a skills test administered by an approved CDL examiner.
After receiving your skills test scores, bring the following to the MVD
- Driver license
- Learner’s permit
- Sealed envelope with skills test scores
Note: Not all MVD Field Offices issue CDLs. To identify an office in your area that can handle your complete CDL application process, check the CDL Field Offices.
Required Documents for a CDL
You will need to take the originals of all these required documents:
- Out-of-state CDL or New Mexico driver license
- Proof of Identifcation number
- USDOT Commercial Driver Medical Form, Federal Medical Waiver Card, or proof of employment by a government entity;
- Proof of identity (including date of birth),
- proof of U.S. citizenship or lawful permanent residence status in the United States
- Two (2) proofs of physical residency in New Mexico.
All drivers will be required to pass all required CDL Knowledge Tests for the Class and/or type of vehicle the applicant wants to operate. Any applicant who fails any one CDL Knowledge Test must wait one week (7 days) from day of testing before retesting. Any CDL Applicant may take any one CDL Knowledge Test three times within a one year period. After the third fail, the applicant must wait one year from the first time tested before retesting. No documentation of any kind and no cellular phones are permitted in the test area. Any applicant found cheating or committing an offense while testing, will have their CDL application or CDL license disqualified for a period of one year from the date of determination and will be required to obtain a Class D license if holding a CDL. The disqualified applicant may reapply (a full retest) for the CDL license after the one year period.
If you passed and obtained a CDL Learner’s Permit, you may inquire where to take the Required Skills Test in your area. The Skills Tests consists of the Pre-Trip, Basic Control Skills and Road Testing and are administered by a third party examiner and will normally take two hours. A third-time fail in any part of the Skills Test will result in a one year wait before re-testing. First time test fees are $150.00 and all applicable fees for Skills Testing are payable to the third party examiner or tester and NOT the State of New Mexico.
The fee is $18.00 for a four- year license or $34.00 for an eight- year license. Drivers who are 75 years old or older must renew their licenses yearly, but they are not charged renewal fees.
State law now requires a DWI records check on all drivers moving to New Mexico from out- of- state. To pay for the records check, those drivers are charged an additional one- time $15.00 fee, increasing their total to $33.00 for a four- year license or $49.00 for an eight- year license.
The additional cost for the background check and fingerprinting required to obtain a Hazmat endorsement is $127.00.
Licensing Agency & Website
New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division, http://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/Drivers/Pages/Commercial-Drivers.aspx