- The minimum age for a CDL is 21. If you are at least 18, you may apply for an intrastate CDL that is valid only in Arizona. Drivers under the age of 21 are prohibited from transporting hazardous materials.
- Individuals who are not U.S. Citizens must show proof of authorized presence by presenting a Permanent Resident Card/Resident Alien Card, I-551.
- Arizona state law requires that all applicants for an original driver license or identification card present two forms of identification – one must have your photo (or three forms of identification if no photo identification is available). All must be originals or copies certified by the issuing agency. All must be in English.
- You are required by ARS 28-3158 (D)(5), 28-3165 (F) and 42 USC 405 (c)(2)(C) to provide your Social Security Number. It will be used to verify your identity and to comply with federal and state child support enforcement laws. It will not be used as your license number. Must show a valid Social Security card at time of application.
- To qualify for an Arizona CDL, your state of domicile must be Arizona. The state of domicile is defined as the state of your true, fixed and permanent home, and principal residence; where you intend to return after being away.
- You have 30 days to change your CDL when you change your state of domicile to Arizona. Federal and state law require that you surrender all previous license credentials.
If you are a first time CDL applicant, you must obtain a CDL instruction permit to operate a vehicle requiring a CDL on the highway. The CDL instruction permit is valid for six months.
You must have the following documents before you pay any fees or take any tests:
- Properly completed Medical Examiner Certificate (form #40-1504A available online, or a DOT Card can be obtained at any CDL office.
- Social Security Card
- Valid operator license
- Acceptable Identification Requirements
You must prove one year driving experience in a vehicle other than a motorcycle. For drivers with an Arizona license, this information is already available on our database. For out of state applicants, your out of state license must have been issued more than one year ago or you must provide a motor vehicle record (MVR) issued by another state that is less that 30 days old, that shows proof of at least a one year driving history. No third party MVRs will be accepted.
You will be required to successfully complete all applicable knowledge testing. For CDL offices outside of the Phoenix and Tucson metro areas, an appointment is required to take the knowledge tests.
You must pay for the class of license prior to taking the test. In order to add a passenger and/or school bus endorsement, you must obtain a CDL instruction permit with the passenger and/or school bus endorsement for the class of bus you intend to drive. Then you must take CDL pre-trip, basic controls and road/skills tests in the appropriate class of bus/school bus.
You must correctly answer at least 80% of the questions on each knowledge test in order to achieve a passing score. Applicants must wait at least until the next business day to retake any tests. Appointments for retesting may be made by contacting a CDL office where required.
Note: Once you have answered 80% of the test questions correctly, or once you have missed the maximum amount allowed, the test will automatically stop.
The following are not allowed in the testing area:
- Cell phones
- Electronic dictionaries
- Any person other than the applicant (Children are not allowed in the test room area and must wait in the lobby, supervised by an adult who is accompanying you.)
Note: Backpacks, bags, purses, books, paper, pens, pencils, etc., may be brought into the testing area, but you will be instructed to store them in a designated area away from the testing computer.
You will be required to complete a road/skills test in the class of vehicle you intend to drive. If testing for the passenger or school bus endorsement, you must test in the size of bus or school bus you intended to drive.
You may take the test at an MVD CDL office or at an authorized third party office. There are many public and private organizations in Arizona that have MVD certified testers who are authorized to administer the road/skill test to CDL applicants. These third parties include school districts, government agencies, businesses and truck driving schools. If you wish to go an MVD CDL office, call to schedule the required road/skills tests. You must provide your own vehicle.
- Class A or B permit, no endorsements – $25.00
- Class C permit – $12.50 (must have a passenger endorsement; hazardous materials, HME, not allowed on Class C permits)
- Doubles/Triple Trailers endorsement – $10.00
- Tank endorsement – $10.00
- HME – $10.00
- Motorcycle endorsement – $ 7.00
- School Bus endorsement – No fee
- Passenger endorsement – $10.00
Licensing Agency & Website:
Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division, http://www.azdot.gov/mvd/CDLInfo.asp